College Council 

Scope and Function

The College Council is the central participatory planning committee for Shasta College and is a key component of Shasta’s integrated planning and institutional review processes. The College Council is responsible for establishing the institution’s direction by developing the institutional mission statement and long-term goals, in concert with the Governing Board and Accreditation Standards.

The College Council will act as the primary participatory college committee and specifically to:

A. Advocate for effective College planning processes being in place and used.
B. Oversee the development of the College’s Strategic Plan and Educational Master Plan. 
C. Develop College-wide priorities and make recommendations to the Superintendent/President regarding budgeting, staffing, equipment and facilities based on an analysis of information received from college committees and bodies.
D. Review the College Mission Statement at least once every three years and ensure alignment of the College mission and goals with the State Community College mission and goals.
E. Review and make recommendations on the District’s Board Policies and Administrative Procedures to ensure development based upon a culture of evidence and consultation with constituencies.
F. Establish ad-hoc committees, sub-committees, and task forces where and when appropriate. The following are examples of standing subcommittees of College Council:
  1. Accreditation Steering Committee
  2. Research Committee
G. Review reports from the Program Review Committee.
H. Communicate ideas and recommendations to the College community.

Committee Membership


Dr. Frank Nigro, Assistant Superintendent/Vice President of Instruction​ (Co-Chair)       
Dr. Kevin O'Rorke, Assistant Superintendent/Vice President of Student Services 
Morris Rodrigue, Assistant Superintendent/Vice President​ of Administrative Services


Cathy Anderson, Mathematics
​Jay Davis, Welding​ (Co-Chair)       
Dr. Ramon Tello, Philosophy


Chelsea Kefalas, Administrative Secretary I (Student Life)
Angela Nava, Administrative Secretary I (Grant Development)
Susan Saephanh, Web Content Coordinator

Student Representative

Kyle Ellis

Non-Voting Members

Stacey Bartlett, Dean of Arts, Communications, and Social Sciences
Will Breitbach, Dean of Library Services & Educational Technology
Greg Smith, Associate Vice President of Human Resources
Dr. Joe Wyse, Superintendent/President

College-Wide Planning Documents

Strategic Plans


2012-2015 Strategic Plan  ​


2005-2007 Strategic Plan

Click here for Adobe Acrobat Reader