Staffing

 

Employees in all areas of DSPS will be qualified professionals who are responsive to the needs of students with disabilities. The director will be assigned solely to DSPS. Professional staff will include counselors and faculty who meet the standards for employment in DSPS as outlined in Title 5, the California Educational Code, and Chancellor’s Office Learning Eligibility Model. Clerical and other support staff will be knowledgeable about the needs of students with disabilities and provide services in a manner that is respectful and empowering to students.

Opportunities for professional training and development will be offered on an ongoing basis, especially through internet-based collaborative settings and through training opportunities sponsored through the community college system.

 

Reference:
Education Code Sections 67310, 84850; Title 5, Sections 56000 et. seq.;
Section 504 Rehabilitation Act of 1973; Title 2, Americans with Disabilities
Act Title III-4.2300

DSPS Main Office (530) 242-7790

 

Sandra Hamilton Slane, DSPS Director
(530) 242-7799
sslane@shastacollege.edu 

Kimberly Bottum, DSPS Staff Secretary
(530) 242-7790
kbottum@shastacollege.edu 
DSPS Counselors
 
Kendall Crenshaw, Learning Disability Specialist
(530) 242-7790
kcrenshaw@shastacollege.edu 
 
Diana Hamar, Counselor for Students with Disabilities
(530) 242-7790
dhamar@shastacollege.edu 
 
Andrea Cooper, DSPS Paraprofessional
(530) 242-7794
acooper@shastacollege.edu 
 
Ron Vanorden, DSPS Paraprofessional
(530) 242-7833
rvanorden@shatstacollege.edu 
 
Pat Calbreath, DSPS Paraprofessional
(530) 242-7833
pcalbreath@shastacollege.edu