Office of Student Life

Alphabetical Listing of Student Clubs and Organizations

 ​

​ADMINISTRATION OF JUSTICE CLUB​
​Status ​Active 2018/2019
Purpose​ ​The administration of justice club has been organized to promote academic and career success among students who are pursing a career in the criminal justice field.
​Advisor ​Craig Carmena
​Phone ​(530) 242-2267
​Email ​ccarmena@shastacollege.edu 
​Website Shasta College AOJ Facebook Page 

​​AGRICULTURE LEADERSHIP CLUB ​
​Status ​Active 2018/2019
​Purpose ​Agriculture and Natural Resources is a way of life and a unique family of ranchers, farmers, outdoors men, horticulture, forestry, equestrians and all who work and share this land. We together must protect our heritage and our future which starts with education which no one can take from you.
​    Advisor/     
Co-Advisor
​Trena Kimler-Richards / BJ Macfarlane
​Phone ​(553) 242-2209 / (530) 242-7564
​Email trichards@shastacollege.edu / bmacfarlane@shastacollege.edu
​Website Agricultural Leadership Club Homepage

  

​​THE ARTIST GUILD ​
​Status ​Active 2018/2019
​Purpose ​To facilitate learning from local artists and the community.
​    Advisors ​David Gentry / Andrew Patterson-Tutschka
​Phone ​(530) 242-2370 / (530) 242-2371
​Email ​dgentry@shastacolleger.edu / apatterson-tutschka@shastacollege.edu
​Website Shasta College Artist Guild Facebook Page


​AUTO CLUB ​(formerly SCRAM)
​Status ​Active 2018/2019

​Purpose

​To enhance and facilitate the education of auto mechanics to individuals who have an interest in the automotive industry; to expand the interest of Automotive Technology to Shasta College students and the general public; to network, socialize, make new friends, and have a positive voice.
​Advisors ​Dan Bryant
​Phone ​(530) 242-2211
​Email dbryant@shastacollege.edu
​Website www.shastacollege.edu/scramclub​

 
CULINARY CLUB ​
​Status Active 2018/2019
​Purpose ​Our goal this year is to get our herb gardent up and running.  
​Advisor Brad Peters / Che Stedman
​Phone ​(530) 242-2262 / (530) 921-1177
​Email bpeters@shastacollege.edu / che@moonstonebistro.com
​Website ​No website
 

 
​DENTAL HYGIENE CLUB - SADHA Class of 2019
​Status ​Active 2018/2019
Purpose​ ​The Dental Hygiene Class of 2019
​Advisor ​Kristi Hughes / Wendy Chew
​Phone ​(530) 227-4452 / (530) 515-2469
​Email khughes@shastacollege.edu / wchew@shastacollege.edu
​Website ​No website

 
 
​DIESEL 4x4 CLUB ​
​Status Active 2018/2019
​Purpose ​To share knowledge and promote participation in the diesel technology industry.
​Advisor ​Ray Nicholas/ Ishmael Rivas
​Phone ​(530) 242-2213 / (530) 242-2213
​Email rnicholas@shastacollege.edu / irivas@shastacollege.edu
​Website Shasta College Diesel 4x4 Club Facebook Page

 

​disABILITY AWARENESS CLUB
​Status Active 2018/2019

​Purpose

​To promote awareness of challenges, accomplishments, and resources for people with disabilities. 
​Advisors ​Kendall Crenshaw
​Phone ​(530) 242-7798
​Email kcrenshaw@shastacollege.edu
​Website No Website


 

​EARLY CHILDHOOD EDUCATORS NETWORK CLUB (ECEN) ​
​Status ​Active 2018/2019
​Purpose ​To promote professional growth in the field of Early Childhood Education, connect with educators world-wide, develop advocacy, create a network of information and opportunities
​Advisor Debbie Whitmer / Kate Ashbey
​Phone ​(530) 242-7617 / (530) 242-7615
​Email dwhitmer@shastacollege.edu / kashbey@shastacollege.edu
​Website www.shastacollege.edu/ecenclub 
 ​ 
 
EQUIPMENT OPERATORS CLUB ​
​Status ​Active 2018/2019
​Purpose ​Dedicated to working with the community to better understand the professional role of our industry in society.
​Advisors ​John Livingston
​Phone ​(530) 242-2203​
​Email jlivingston@shastacollege.edu
​Website ​No website
  
  
FIRE TECHNOLOGY CLUB ​
​Status Active 2018/2019
​Purpose Inform the community that Shasta College has a Fire Academy, raise donations for our club's special events and opportunities. Give back to the community by helping different organizations with their events. We want to show people who Shasta College Fire Academy is and how strong we are as a team.
Advisors ​Ron Marley / Tony Osa
​Phone ​(530) 242-2208 / (530) 242-2207
​Email rmarley@shastacollege.edu / tosa@shastacollege.edu
​Website ​No website

 
​GEOTECH CLUB
​Status Active 2017/2018
​Purpose ​To provide support to local and global communities through the application of geospatial technologies, while developing workplace experience, resources and prospects.
​Advisor Dan Scollon
​Phone ​(530)-242-2314
​Email dscollon@shastacollege.edu
​Website ​No website​
 
 
HEALTH SCIENCES CLUB (formerly Nursing Club)​
​Status ​Active 2016/2017
​Purpose ​Nursing students unite together to make a difference in our community. 
​Advisors ​Linda McBroome / Nancy Skaggs
​Phone ​530) 339-3646 / (530) 339-3616
​Email LMCBROOME@ShastaCollege.edu / nskaggs@shastacollege.edu
​Website ​No website

 ​

HISPANIC LATINO/A/X INITIATIVE CLUB
​Status ​Active 2018/2019
​Purpose ​An increased focus on Hispanic Latino/a/x students in order to increase retention, persistence and success.
​Advisors ​Idalia Huckman-Crye / Sharon Brisolara 
​Phone ​530) 529-8976 / (530) 242-7625
​Email ​ihuckman@shastacollege.edu / sbrisolara@shastacollege.edu
​Website ​No website

 

HORTICULTURE CLUB ​
​Status Active 2018/2019
​Purpose ​Further students' interest in Horticulture and Botany to make the world a greener place.
​Advisor ​Leimone Waite
​Phone ​(530) 242-2210
​Email lwaite@shastacollege.edu
​Website Environmental Horticulture Facebook Page​

 

INTERCULTURAL CLUB
​Status Active 2018/2019
​Purpose

​To form a community of Globally inclined people and learn together how things are done around the world.

​Advisors Ryan Loughrey
​Phone (530) 242-7623
​Email rloughrey@shastacollege.edu 
Facebook ​No Website

 

​INTERVARSITY CHRISTIAN FELLOWSHIP ​
​Status Active 2018/2019
​Purpose ​To establish an advance at colleges and universities witnessing communities of students and faculty who follow Jesus as our Lord and savior: growing in love with God, God's word, God's people of every ethnicity and culture and God's purpose in the world. 
​Advisors Rachelle Sugimoto
​Phone (530) 242-2331
​Email rsugimoto@shastacollege.edu
Facebook Intervarsity Facebook Page
    
 
​LOGGING SPORTS CLUB ​
​Status Active 2018/2019
​Purpose ​To promote a positive image of the logging industry, strengthen professional contacts amongst industry partners, and demonstrate safe, fun and educational experiences with kids and the general public, through the use of logging sports competitions.
Advisors ​John Livingston
​Phone ​(530) 242-2203
​Email jlivingston@shastacollege.edu
​Website ​No website
     

​MODEL UNITED NATIONS
​Status ​Active 2018/2019
​Purpose ​To engage an authentic simulation of the United Nations system by learning about the UN system, skills of debate, compromise, negotiation, and conflict resolution.
Advisors

David Pearl / Iraja Sivadas

​Phone ​(530) 339-5221 
​Email  dpearl@shastacollege.edu / isivadas@shastacollege.edu ​
​Website https://shastacollegemun.wixsite.com/website

 
 
N.A.T.I.V.E. CLUB
​Status Active 2017/2018
​Purpose ​The Native Club shall support and encourage the Native American students of Shasta College and others wishing to join the club by offering spiritual, physical and mental balance by providing resources, and enhancing sources and family support.
​Advisor ​James Tate
​Phone ​(530) 242-2226
​Email jtate@shastacollege.edu
​Website No website
 
 
​NATURAL RESOURCES CLUB ​
​Status ​Active 2018/2019
​Purpose ​Dedicated to working with the community to better understand the effects that humans have on our enviornment.
​Advisor ​Melissa Markee
​Phone ​(530) 242-2298
​Email mmarkee@shastacollege.edu
​Website Forestry/Natural Resources Club Homepage
 
 
​NERD CLUB ​
​Status ​Active 2018/2019
​Purpose ​A safe place for everyone to nerd out about anything.
​Advisor ​Anthony Eckhardt / James Crockett
​Phone (​530) 242-2254 / (530) 242-7585
​Email aeckhardt@shastacollege.edu / ​jcrockett@shastacollege.edu 
​Website ​No website
 
 
 

​PHI THETA KAPPA - BETA MU MU CHAPTER (PTK)

Student Honor Society Organization

​Status ​Active 2018/2019
​Purpose ​To promote Scholarship, Fellowship, Leadership and Service among two-year college students. Must have completed 12 units at Shasta College and have and maintain a cumulative GPA of 3.5 or higher to join. Cost is $90.00. Membership is by application ONLY. Please visit the websites below or visit the Office of the Dean of Students for a paper application.
Advisors Denise Axtell / Jeremy Scherr
​Phone ​(530) 242-7771 / (530) 355-9120
​Email daxtell@shastacollege.edu / jscherr@shastacollege.edu
​Website www.ptk.org or www.shastacollege.edu/ptk
  
 
​PRE-MED/ PRE-HEALTH CLUB
​Status Active 2018/2019
​Purpose Enlighten students on the path to healthcare.                                                                              
Advisors ​Morgan Hannaford
​Phone ​(530) 242-2324
​Email mhannaford@shastacollege.edu
​Website ​No website
   
 
SADHA Class of 2020
​Status Active 2018/2019
​Purpose ​Shasta College students and faculty engaging with the community and other professionals in Dental Hygiene in order to encourage, educate and evolve our field.
​Advisors ​Kristi Hughes / Yvette Warren
​Phone ​(530) 227-4452 / (530) 949-7524
​Email ​khughes@shastacollege.edu / ywarren@shastacollege.edu 
​Website N/A
  

 
​SCIENCE CLUB ​
​Status Active 2018/2019
​Purpose ​To promote interest and knowledge of the scientific world.
​Advisors ​Dr. Matthew Evans / Tim Shelton
​Phone ​(530) 242-2316 / (530) 242-2321
​Email mevans@shastacollege.edu / tshelton@shastacollege.edu 
​Website www.shastacollege.edu/scienceclub
  
 
​STUDENT SENATE - Student Government Organization ​
​Status ​Active 2018/2019
​Purpose ​To represent students of Shasta College; to provide a vehicle for shared governance, student input, and participation in the affairs and activities of Shasta College as provided by the Education Code of the State of California. The Student Senate functions for the good of the students to promote concerns and policies pertaining to the students of Shasta College and encourage student development and leadership.
​Advisor ​Allie Hancock / David Pearl
​Phone ​(530) 242-7614; (530) 242-2337
​Email ahancock@shastacollege.edu / dpearl@shastacollege.edu
​Website www.shastacollege.edu/studentsenate
  

TECHNOLOGY CLUB (FORMERLY COMPUTER CLUB)
​Status Active 2018/2019
​Purpose ​To bring together like minded individuals who wish to gain real world technology repair experience.
​Advisor ​Dhabih Hendershot / Tom Martin
​Phone ​(530) 926-0087 / (530) 242-2264
​Email ​techclubshastacollege@gmail.com
​Website www.facebook.com/shastatechclub
   

VETERANS CLUB
​Status Active 2018/2019
​Purpose ​To instill pride in our members through engagement in service to fellow members and the community, all the while fostering patriotism and respect for those who have served and continue to serve. 
​Advisor ​Dhabih Hendershot / Lew Schmitt
​Phone ​(530) 242-2265 / (530) 242-2255
​Email dhendershot@shastacollege.edu / lschmitt@shastacollege.edu
​Website Shasta College Veterans Club Facebook
 ​
  
​WELDING & MANUFACTURING CLUB ​
​Status Active 2018/2019
​Purpose ​Community service, education, elevating the level of student success.
​Advisors ​Mark Smith / Jay Davis
​Phone ​(530) 242-2214 / (530) 242-2216
​Email msmith@shastacollege.edu / jdavis@shastacollege.edu
​Website ​No website
    
 
WOMEN'S BEACH VOLLEYBALL CLUB (formerly Sand Volleyball)
​Status ​Active 2018/2019

​Purpose

​To provide female Shasta College students with the opportunity to participate in beach volleyball play and practive. To potentially provide these athletes with the opportunity for both intramural and intercollegiate scrimmage competition.  
​Advisors ​Kelly Brazil / Jason Kelly
​Phone ​(530) 242-2274 / (530) 242-7737
​Email kbrazil@shastacollege.edu / jkelly@shastacollege.edu
​Website ​No website 
 

​WRITING CLUB
​Status Active 2017/2018
​Purpose ​To meet regularly and to improve our creative writing skills in all desired areas. We will network and share resources about writing and publishing. Our goal is to create a safe and fun environment for student writers to gather, exercise writing skills, and share their own writing and advice to fellow students. We wish to promote a place to learn and nurture group members and facilitate their growth as writers.
​Advisor ​Sarah Innes
​Phone ​(530) 242-7760
​Email sinnes@shastacollege.edu
​Website ​No website
 
A listing of some of the most recent dormant clubs are below. If you are interested in starting this club again please contact the Office of Student Life (530) 242-7626:
 
Association of General Contractors Club
COLLABORATION ​DANCE THEATRE CLUB 
BEGIN AGAIN CLUB
BUSINESS LEADERSHIP CLUB ​
DORM CLUB
FAMILY STUDIES STUDENT CLUB
FOOD AND FILM CLUB
KNIGHT CLUB
LATINAS UNIDAS NETWORKING ALLIANCE CLUB (LUNA) ​​
LEAGUE OF LEGENDS CLUB
PHI RHO PI
POLITICAL SCIENCE CLUB
PROJECT DANCE
PUENTE CLUB ​
RODEO CLUB
T.O.R.C.H. "Teaching Others Responsibility, Compassion and Hope"
THEATRE FOR ACTION CLUB ​(FORMERLY DRAMA CLUB)
 VOCATIONAL NURSING CLUB
 
 Club information last updated 12/4/2018​
​​​​​​​​​​​​