Office of Student Life

Alphabetical Listing of Student Clubs and Organizations

 ​

​ACCOUNTING CLUB​
​Status ​Active 2019/2020
Purpose​ ​To better understand the professional role of our industry in society. To develop professional accounting-specific skills and network with industry parners to enhance our understanding of our future role in the industry and community.
​Advisor ​Juanna Van Der Linde
​Phone ​(760) 285-0365
​Email jvanderlinde@shastacollege.edu ​
​Website N/A

​ADMINISTRATION OF JUSTICE CLUB​
​Status ​Active 2019/2020
Purpose​ ​To promote academic and career success among students interested in pursuing a career in the criminal justice field.
​Advisor ​Craig Carmena / Joe Trompzinski
​Phone ​(530) 242-2267 / (530) 242-7910
​Email ​ccarmena@shastacollege.edu / jtrompzinski@shastacollege.edu
​Website Shasta College AOJ Facebook Page 

​​AGRICULTURE LEADERSHIP CLUB ​
​Status ​Active 2019/2020
​Purpose ​Agriculture and Natural Resources is a way of life and a unique family of ranchers, farmers, outdoors men, horticulture, forestry, equestrians and all who work and share this land. We together must protect our heritage and our future which starts with education which no one can take from you.
​    Advisor/     
Co-Advisor
​Audra Harl / Leimone Waite
​Phone ​(553) 242-2209 / (530) 242-2210
​Email ​aharl@shastacollege.edu / lwaite@shastacollege.edu
​Website Agricultural Leadership Club Homepage

  

​​THE ARTIST GUILD ​
​Status ​Active 2018/2019
​Purpose ​To facilitate learning from local artists and the community.
​    Advisors ​David Gentry / Andrew Patterson-Tutschka
​Phone ​(530) 242-2370 / (530) 242-2371
​Email ​dgentry@shastacolleger.edu / apatterson-tutschka@shastacollege.edu
​Website Shasta College Artist Guild Facebook Page


​AUTO CLUB ​(formerly SCRAM)
​Status ​Active 2020/2021

​Purpose

​To enhance and facilitate the education of auto mechanics to individuals who have an interest in the automotive industry; to expand the interest of Automotive Technology to Shasta College students and the general public.
​Advisors ​Dan Bryant
​Phone ​(530) 242-2211
​Email dbryant@shastacollege.edu
​Website www.shastacollege.edu/scramclub​

 
CULINARY CLUB ​
​Status Active 2019/2020
​Purpose To integrate a pathway for students to connect their culinary education into the professional industry. 
​Advisor Brad Peters 
​Phone ​(530) 242-2266 
​Email bpeters@shastacollege.edu 
​Website ​No website
 

 
​DENTAL HYGIENE CLUB - SADHA Class of 2019
​Status ​Active 2018/2019
Purpose​ ​The Dental Hygiene Class of 2019
​Advisor ​Kristi Hughes / Wendy Chew
​Phone ​(530) 227-4452 / (530) 515-2469
​Email khughes@shastacollege.edu / wchew@shastacollege.edu
​Website ​No website

 
 
​DIESEL 4x4 CLUB ​
​Status Active 2019/2020
​Purpose ​To promote the diesel technology and BAITS programs and to provide scholarships to students.
​Advisor ​Ray Nicholas/ Ishmael Rivas
​Phone ​(530) 242-2213 / (530) 242-2213
​Email rnicholas@shastacollege.edu / irivas@shastacollege.edu
​Website Shasta College Diesel 4x4 Club Facebook Page

 

DREAM CLUB (formerly disAbility Awareness Club)
​Status Active 2018/2019

​Purpose

​To promote awareness of challenges, accomplishments, and resources for people with disabilities. 
​Advisors Lisa Riggs
​Phone ​(530) 242 - 7790 (option 1)
​Email lriggs@shastacollege.edu
​Website No Website


ECEN (Early Childhood Educators' Network)
​Status ​Active 2019/2020
​Purpose ​To promote the professional growth in the field of early childhood education, connect with early childhood educators worldwide, develop an effective advocacy for the education of young children, and create a network of information and opportunities to enhance child/family/teacher relations.
​Advisors ​Debbie Whitmer / Kate Ashbey
​Phone ​(530) 242-7617 / (530) 242-7615
​Email ​dwhitmer@shastacollege.edu / kashbey@shastacollege.edu
​Website ​No website
  ​ 

EQUIPMENT OPERATORS CLUB ​
​Status ​Active 2019/2020
​Purpose ​The AWS Shasta College chapter is a group of Shasta College students and faculty dedicated to working with the community to better understand the professional role of our industry in society. Our main goal is to develop professional skills and network with industry partners and to serve the community.
​Advisors ​John Livingston / David Alvord
​Phone ​(530) 227-2171​ / (530) 921-4109
​Email jlivingston@shastacollege.edu / dalvord@shastacollege.edu
​Website ​No website
  
  
FIRE TECHNOLOGY CLUB ​
​Status Active 2019/2020
​Purpose Promote our program and fundraise for its operations.
Advisors ​Don Lacy / Matt Loughran-Smith
​Phone ​(530) 242-2207 / (530) 262-1019
​Email dlacy@shastacollege.edu / mloughran@charter.net ​
​Website ​No website



​GEO ADVENTURE CLUB
​Status Active 2019/2020
​Purpose The GeoAdventure Club is a place for students to explore places of natural and cultural interest and to be active in improving the enviornment.
​Advisor Dan Scollon
​Phone ​(530) 242-2314
​Email dscollon@shastacollege.edu
​Website https://storymaps.arcgis.com/stories/81a8100c503343b1af1235279c86eb01 

 
 
​GEOTECH CLUB
​Status Active 2017/2018
​Purpose ​To provide support to local and global communities through the application of geospatial technologies, while developing workplace experience, resources and prospects.
​Advisor Dan Scollon
​Phone ​(530)-242-2314
​Email dscollon@shastacollege.edu
​Website ​No website​
 

​GSA (Gay Straight Alliance)
​Status Active 2019/2020
​Purpose To create a safe, welcoming, and accepting school enviornment for all students regardless of sexual orientation or gender identity.
​Advisor Valerie Ambrose / Andrew Jolliff
​Phone ​(530) 242-2231 / (530) 242-7760
​Email vambrose@shastacollege.edu / ajolliff@shastacollege.edu
​Website ​No website​
  

HISPANIC LATINO/A/X INITIATIVE CLUB
​Status ​Active 2019/2020
​Purpose ​An increased focus on Hispanic Latino/a/x students in order to increase retention, persistence and success.
​Advisors ​Idalia Huckman-Crye / Sharon Brisolara 
​Phone ​530) 529-8976 / (530) 242-7625
​Email ​ihuckman@shastacollege.edu / sbrisolara@shastacollege.edu
​Website ​No website

 

HORTICULTURE CLUB ​
​Status Active 2019/2020
​Purpose ​To promote horticulture knowledge and job oppurtunities for students at Shasta College.
​Advisor ​Leimone Waite
​Phone ​(530) 242-2210
​Email lwaite@shastacollege.edu
​Website Environmental Horticulture Facebook Page​

 

INTERCULTURAL CLUB
​Status Active 2018/2019
​Purpose

​To form a community of Globally inclined people and learn together how things are done around the world.

​Advisors Ryan Loughrey
​Phone (530) 242-7623
​Email rloughrey@shastacollege.edu 
Facebook ​No Website

 

​INTERVARSITY CHRISTIAN FELLOWSHIP ​
​Status Active 2020/2021
​Purpose ​To see students fully come aline in the love, purpose and joy of Jesus Christ, engaging deeply with the Bible, prayer, and community. 
​Advisors Rachelle Sugimoto
​Phone (530) 242-2331
​Email rsugimoto@shastacollege.edu
Facebook Intervarsity Facebook Page
    

​KNIGHT'S STUDENT ATHLETES
​Status Active 2019/2020
​Purpose ​To help support the mission of providing a high quality experience for our student athletes while participating in intercollegiate athletics at Shasta College.
Advisors ​Jerry Brown
​Phone ​(530) 242-2275
​Email ​jbrown@shastacollege.edu ​
​Website ​No website
     

​LANCE
​Status Active 2019/2020
​Purpose ​A student-ran print/online news magazine whose main goal is to inform those on campus and to promote the different departments of Shasta College.
Advisors ​Peter Griggs / Chris Rodriguez
​Phone ​(530) 242-7514 / (530) 242-7730
​Email ​ jlivingston@shastacollege.edu
​Website ​No website
     

​LOGGING SPORTS CLUB ​
​Status Active 2019/2020
​Purpose ​To promote a positive image of the logging industry, strengthen professional contacts amongst industry partners, and demonstrate safe, fun and educational experiences with kids and the general public, through the use of logging sports competitions.
Advisors ​John Livingston
​Phone ​(530) 242-2203
​Email jlivingston@shastacollege.edu
​Website ​No website
     

​MODEL UNITED NATIONS
​Status ​Active 2018/2019
​Purpose ​To engage an authentic simulation of the United Nations system by learning about the UN system, skills of debate, compromise, negotiation, and conflict resolution.
Advisors

David Pearl / Iraja Sivadas

​Phone ​(530) 339-5221 
​Email  dpearl@shastacollege.edu / isivadas@shastacollege.edu ​
​Website https://shastacollegemun.wixsite.com/website

 
N.A.T.I.V.E. CLUB
​Status Active 2017/2018
​Purpose ​The Native Club shall support and encourage the Native American students of Shasta College and others wishing to join the club by offering spiritual, physical and mental balance by providing resources, and enhancing sources and family support.
​Advisor ​James Tate
​Phone ​(530) 242-2226
​Email jtate@shastacollege.edu
​Website No website
 
 
​NATURAL RESOURCES CLUB ​
​Status ​Active 2019/2020
​Purpose ​A group of Shasta College students dedicated to working with the community to better understand the effects that humans have on our enviornment. Our main goal is to educate the public about natural resource issues and to set a good example for the community to follow.
​Advisor ​Melissa Markee
​Phone ​(530) 242-2298
​Email mmarkee@shastacollege.edu
​Website Forestry/Natural Resources Club Homepage
 
 
​NERD CLUB ​
​Status ​Active 2018/2019
​Purpose ​A safe place for everyone to nerd out about anything.
​Advisor ​Anthony Eckhardt / James Crockett
​Phone (​530) 242-2254 / (530) 242-7585
​Email aeckhardt@shastacollege.edu / ​jcrockett@shastacollege.edu 
​Website ​No website
  
 

​PEP BAND

​Status ​Active 2019/2020
​Purpose ​To add an extra layer of student involvement and support to regular Home Football and Basketball games.
Advisors Brandon Mendez / David Cooper
​Phone ​(530) 242-7730 / (530) 242 - 2229
​Email bmendez@shastacollege.edu / dcooper@shastacollege.edu
​Website
   

​PHI THETA KAPPA - BETA MU MU CHAPTER (PTK)

Student Honor Society Organization

​Status ​Active 2020/2021
​Purpose ​To promote Scholarship, Fellowship, Leadership and Service among two-year college students. Must have completed 12 units at Shasta College and have and maintain a cumulative GPA of 3.5 or higher to join. Cost is $90.00. Membership is by application ONLY. Please visit the websites below or visit the Office of the Dean of Students for a paper application.
Advisors Denise Axtell 
​Phone ​(530) 242-7771 
​Email daxtell@shastacollege.edu 
​Website www.ptk.org or www.shastacollege.edu/ptk
  
 
​PRE-MED/ PRE-HEALTH CLUB
​Status Active 2018/2019
​Purpose Enlighten students on the path to healthcare.                                                                              
Advisors ​Morgan Hannaford
​Phone ​(530) 242-2324
​Email mhannaford@shastacollege.edu
​Website ​No website
 

RECORDING AND PERFORMING ARTS CLUB
​Status Active 2019/2020
​Purpose ​To provide a forum where members can create and participate in performance, composition, electronic music/media, recording arts, live sound and broadcasting activities. To provide oppurtunities for members to socialize, collaborate, and network through common interests in the recording and performing arts. To foster interest in the recoring and performance arts and it's subcategories among its members and the community.
​Advisors ​Dr. Jeff Specht
​Phone ​763-607-4294
​Email jspecht@shastacollege.edu
​Website N/A


ROTARACT
​Status Active 2019/2020
​Purpose ​To provide oppurtunites for personal and group activities to serve the community and promote international understanding and goodwill toward all people. To develop professional and leadership skills.
​Advisors ​Kelly Nickel
​Phone ​(530) 941-5207
​Email ​knickel@shastacollege.edu 
​Website N/A

 
SADHA Class of 2020
​Status Active 2018/2019
​Purpose ​Shasta College students and faculty engaging with the community and other professionals in Dental Hygiene in order to encourage, educate and evolve our field.
​Advisors ​Kristi Hughes / Yvette Warren
​Phone ​(530) 227-4452 / (530) 949-7524
​Email ​khughes@shastacollege.edu / ywarren@shastacollege.edu 
​Website N/A
  

SHASTA COLLEGE DENTAL HYGIENE Class of 2021
​Status Active 2019/2020
​Purpose ​A group of Hygiene college students and faculty dedicated to working with the community to understand the professional role of our industry in society. 
​Advisors ​Yvette Warren / Kristi Hughes 
​Phone (530) 949-7524 / ​(530) 227-4452
​Email ywarren@shastacollege.edu​ / ​khughes@shastacollege.edu 
​Website N/A

  ​ 

​SCIENCE CLUB ​
​Status Active 2019/2020
​Purpose ​To not only facilitate a deeper passion and yearning for scientific understanding, but to also offer the oppurtunity for students to conduct facilitated experimentation and research.
​Advisors ​Jim Bigelow / Dr. Matthew Evans / Tim Shelton
​Phone (530) 242-2261 / ​(530) 242-2316 / (530) 242-2321
​Email jbigelow@shastacollege.edu​mevans@shastacollege.edu / tshelton@shastacollege.edu 
​Website https://shastascienceclub.wixsite.com/ssc2020

  
SHASTA COLLEGE CLUB​ S.O.A.R.
​Status Active 2019/2020
​Purpose ​To encourage and build confidence in those students who have experienced life-altering hardships amd economic difficulties due to the industrial prison complex.
​Advisors ​Noehly Padilla
​Phone ​(530) 242-7539
​Email ​npadilla@shastacollege.edu ​
​Website N/A



SHASTA COLLEGE STUDENT FOR LIFE
​Status Active 2019/2020
​Purpose ​To organize and activate pro-life students on the Shasta College campus. Members of the Shasta College Students For Life club work to protect life from conception to natual death, particularly those lived threatened by abortion, infanticide, embryonic stem cell research and euthanasia. In furtherance of these goals, members seek to promote respect for life at Shasta College and on a local, state, and national level, to educate on life issues, to help those in need so that life is a promising choice, and to work with others who share common goals.
​Advisors Wade Stewart / Diane Welch
​Phone ​(530) 242-2296 / (530) 638-5717
​Email wstewart@shastacollege.edu / diw00608@gmail.com​ 
​Website N/A


​SOCIAL WORK AND HUMAN SERVICES 
​Status Active 2019/2020
​Purpose ​To partner with local organizations to help benefit individuals and families in the Shasta College and Redding community at large. The members of this club will use social work and networking skills to accomplish this goal.
​Advisors ​Dr. Wade Stewart
​Phone ​(530) 242-2296
​Email wstewart@shastacollege.edu​
​Website N/A


​STUDENT SENATE - Student Government Organization ​
​Status ​Active 2019/2020
​Purpose ​To represent students of Shasta College; to provide a vehicle for shared governance, student input, and participation in the affairs and activities of Shasta College as provided by the Education Code of the State of California. The Student Senate functions for the good of the students to promote concerns and policies pertaining to the students of Shasta College and encourage student development and leadership.
​Advisor ​Tabitha Peterson
​Phone ​(530) 242-7614
​Email tpeterson@shastacollege.edu
​Website www.shastacollege.edu/studentsenate
  

TECHNOLOGY CLUB (FORMERLY COMPUTER CLUB)
​Status Active 2018/2019
​Purpose ​To bring together like minded individuals who wish to gain real world technology repair experience.
​Advisor ​Dhabih Hendershot / Tom Martin
​Phone ​(530) 926-0087 / (530) 242-2264
​Email ​techclubshastacollege@gmail.com
​Website www.facebook.com/shastatechclub
 
TENNIS CLUB
​Status Active 2019/2020
​Purpose Build a community of people who are interested in tennis.
​Advisor Heidi Lee
​Phone ​(530) 949-3830
​Email hlee@shastacollege.edu
​Website N/A​

VETERANS CLUB
​Status Active 2018/2019
​Purpose ​To instill pride in our members through engagement in service to fellow members and the community, all the while fostering patriotism and respect for those who have served and continue to serve. 
​Advisor ​Dhabih Hendershot / Lew Schmitt
​Phone ​(530) 242-2265 / (530) 242-2255
​Email dhendershot@shastacollege.edu / lschmitt@shastacollege.edu
​Website Shasta College Veterans Club Facebook
 ​
  
​WELDING & MANUFACTURING CLUB ​
​Status Active 2019/2020
​Purpose ​Help students further their knowledge of the different processes in welding and manufacturing and to help them network in the industry.
​Advisors ​Rick Osbrink / Ron Hardin
​Phone ​(530) 242-2268 / (530) 242-2214
​Email ​rosbrink@shastacollege.edu / rhardin@shastacollege.edu
​Website ​No website
    
 
WOMEN'S BEACH VOLLEYBALL CLUB (formerly Sand Volleyball)
​Status ​Active 2019/2020

​Purpose

​To provide female Shasta College students with the opportunity to participate in beach volleyball play and practive. To potentially provide these athletes with the opportunity for both intramural and intercollegiate scrimmage competition.  
​Advisors ​Kelly Brazil / Jason Kelly
​Phone ​(530) 242-2274 / (530) 242-7737
​Email kbrazil@shastacollege.edu / jkelly@shastacollege.edu
​Website ​No website 
 

A listing of some of the most recent dormant clubs are below. If you are interested in starting this club again please contact the Office of Student Life (530) 242-7626:
 
Association of General Contractors Club
COLLABORATION ​DANCE THEATRE CLUB 
BEGIN AGAIN CLUB
BUSINESS LEADERSHIP CLUB ​
DORM CLUB
FAMILY STUDIES STUDENT CLUB
FOOD AND FILM CLUB
KNIGHT CLUB
LATINAS UNIDAS NETWORKING ALLIANCE CLUB (LUNA) ​​
LEAGUE OF LEGENDS CLUB
PHI RHO PI
POLITICAL SCIENCE CLUB
PROJECT DANCE
PUENTE CLUB ​
RODEO CLUB
T.O.R.C.H. "Teaching Others Responsibility, Compassion and Hope"
THEATRE FOR ACTION CLUB ​(FORMERLY DRAMA CLUB)
 VOCATIONAL NURSING CLUB
WRITING CLUB
 
 Club information updated 10/24/2019​
​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​