Published May 27, 2020

The Shasta-Tehama-Trinity Community College District is pleased to announce Trustee Rayola Pratt has received the Community College League of California’s 2020 Fulfilling the Trust Award for her enduring dedication and service to California's community colleges. The award honors trustees who have served twenty years on a community college district board and acknowledges their service again every ten years thereafter.

Rayola Pratt has served as a Shasta College Trustee since 1999 and was an Executive Committee member of the Shasta College Foundation from 2000-2019. Mrs. Pratt is an active and contributing member of several community organizations in Shasta and Trinity Counties. Mrs. Pratt is a retired Executive Director of the American Heart Association, and a past Fundraising Director of the American Cancer Society. She has worked for the Carter House Natural Science Museum in Redding as project coordinator, as well as for the Shasta Union High School District, Gateway Unified School District, and Shasta Elementary School District.

Joe Wyse, Superintendent/President, Shasta-Tehama-Trinity Joint CCD, offered his congratulations and said, “Mrs. Pratt has faithfully served the Shasta College community for twenty years and has been an unwavering advocate for the students in rural regions such as Trinity County. The agriculture program at Shasta College has been of special interest for her and has benefited greatly from her wisdom and involvement. Her unwavering commitment and dedication to the students, faculty and staff of Shasta College is demonstrated by her dependable presence at the many campus events that she has attended during her tenure at the college.” Dr. Wyse concluded by saying, “Over the years, Mrs. Pratt has helped steward a great amount of growth and innovation at Shasta College and her tireless dedication to the college is greatly appreciated.”

This year the League honored eleven trustees who achieved two or more decades of service. A full list of trustees who have received the 2020 Fulfilling the Trust Award is below:

  • Manuel Baca, Mt. San Antonio CCD, 20 Years
  • Pamela Haynes, Los Rios CCD, 20 Years
  • Susan Keith, Citrus CCD, 20 Years
  • Eva Kinsman, Copper Mountain CCD, 20 Years
  • Eva Long, Marin CCD, 20 Years
  • John Martin, Pasadena Area CCD, 40 Years
  • Gary Mendez, Rio Hondo CCD, 20 Years
  • Edward Ortell, Citrus CCD, 50 Years
  • Rayola Pratt, Shasta-Tehama-Trinity CCD, 20 Years
  • Bonnie Stefan, Desert CCD, 20 Years
  • Louis Wong, Imperial CCD, 20 Years