Scope and Function

The College Council is the central participatory planning committee for Shasta College and is a key component of Shasta’s integrated planning and institutional review processes. The College Council is responsible for establishing the institution’s direction by developing the institutional mission statement and long-term goals, in concert with the Governing Board and Accreditation Standards.

The College Council will act as the primary participatory college committee and specifically to:

  • Advocate for effective College planning processes being in place and used.
  • Oversee the development of the College’s Strategic Plan and Educational Master Plan.
  • Develop College-wide priorities and make recommendations to the Superintendent/President regarding budgeting, staffing, equipment and facilities based on an analysis of information received from college committees and bodies.
  • Review the College Mission Statement at least once every three years and ensure alignment of the College mission and goals with the State Community College mission and goals.
  • Review and make recommendations on the District’s Board Policies and Administrative Procedures to ensure development based upon a culture of evidence and consultation with constituencies.
  • Establish ad-hoc committees, sub-committees, and task forces where and when appropriate. The following are examples of standing subcommittees of College Council:
  • Review reports from the Program Review Committee.
  • Communicate ideas and recommendations to the College community.

Committee Membership

  • Dr. Frank Nigro, Assistant Superintendent/Vice President of Instruction​ (Co-Chair)       
  • Dr. Kevin O'Rorke, Assistant Superintendent/Vice President of Student Services 
  • Interim Assistant Superintendent/Vice President of Administrative Services
  • Cathy Anderson, Mathematics
  • ​Jay Davis, Welding​ (Co-Chair)       
  • Sonia Randhawa, Counseling
  • Chelsea Kefalas, Student Services Coordinator (Umoja)
  • Susan Saephanh, Web Content Coordinator
  • James Konopitski, Student Services Coordinator (Veterans Support)
Student Representative
  • Vacant
Non-Voting Members
  • Stacey Bartlett, Dean of Arts, Communications, and Social Sciences
  • Will Breitbach, Dean of Library Services & Educational Technology
  • Dr. Marrianne Williamson, Interim Associate Vice President of Human Resources
  • Dr. Joe Wyse, Superintendent/President
College-Wide Planning Documents

Strategic Plans

2018-2021 Strategic Plan / 2018-2021 Strategic Plan (text only)​

2015-2018 Strategic Plan
2012-2015 Strategic Plan  ​
2009-2012 Strategic Plan
2005-2007 Strategic Plan