Shasta College students share their talents and interests by participating in extracurricular clubs and organizations. There is a wide choice of special interest and departmental campus clubs and student organizations for students to join.
 
To find out how to organize a new club or student organization or how to join an existing one, contact the Office of Student Life.

Interested in starting a club?

Fill out the application to form or renew a student club / organization. You can also learn more by reading the club manual.

Alphabetical Listing of Shasta's Clubs & Organizations

Accounting Club

Status Active 2019/2020
Purpose​ To better understand the professional role of our industry in society. To develop professional accounting-specific skills and network with industry parners to enhance our understanding of our future role in the industry and community.
Advisor Juanna Van Der Linde
​Phone ​(760) 285-0365
Email jvanderlinde@shastacollege.edu

Administration of Justice Club (AOJ)

Contact Info
Status 2019/2020
Purpose To promote academic, and career success in an inclusive setting for students interested in pursuing a career in the criminal justice or a related field.
Advisors Craig Carmena / Milli Israel
Phone (530) 242-2267
Email ccarmena@shastacollege.edu / misrael@shastacollege.edu

Agriculture Leadership Club

Status ​Active 2019/2020
Purpose Agriculture and Natural Resources is a way of life and a unique family of ranchers, farmers, outdoors men, horticulture, forestry, equestrians and all who work and share this land. We together must protect our heritage and our future which starts with education which no one can take from you.
Advisors Audra Harl / Leimone Waite
Phone (553) 242-2209 / (530) 242-2210
Email ​aharl@shastacollege.edu​ / lwaite@shastacollege.edu

Auto Club (formerly SCRAM)

​Status Active 2020/2021
Purpose ​To enhance and facilitate the education of auto mechanics to individuals who have an interest in the automotive industry; to expand the interest of Automotive Technology to Shasta College students and the general public.
Advisors Dan Bryant
Phone (530) 242-2211
Email dbryant@shastacollege.edu

Culinary Club

Status Active 2019/2020
Purpose To integrate a pathway for students to connect their culinary education into the professional industry.
Advisor Brad Peters
Phone ​(530) 242-2266
Email bpeters@shastacollege.edu

Diesel 4x4 Club

Status Active 2019/2020
Purpose ​To promote the diesel technology and BAITS programs and to provide scholarships to students.
Advisors Ray Nicholas / Ishmael Rivas
Phone (530) 242-2213 / (530) 242-2213
Email ​rnicholas@shastacollege.edu / irivas@shastacollege.edu

ECEN (Early Childhood Educators' Network)

Status ​Active 2019/2020
Purpose ​To promote the professional growth in the field of early childhood education, connect with early childhood educators worldwide, develop an effective advocacy for the education of young children, and create a network of information and opportunities to enhance child/family/teacher relations.
Advisors ​Debbie Whitmer / Kate Ashbey
Phone (530) 242-7617 / (530) 242-7615
​Email ​dwhitmer@shastacollege.edu / kashbey@shastacollege.edu

Equipment Operators Club

Status Active 2019/2020
Purpose ​The AWS Shasta College chapter is a group of Shasta College students and faculty dedicated to working with the community to better understand the professional role of our industry in society. Our main goal is to develop professional skills and network with industry partners and to serve the community.
Advisors John Livingston / David Alvord
Phone (530) 227-2171​ / (530) 921-4109
​Email ​jlivingston@shastacollege.edu / dalvord@shastacollege.edu

Fire Technology Club

Status Active 2019/2020
​Purpose Promote our program and fundraise for its operations.
Advisors Don Lacy / Matt Loughran-Smith
​Phone ​(530) 242-2207 / (530) 262-1019
Email dlacy@shastacollege.edu / mloughran@charter.net ​

Geo-Adventure Club

Status ​Active 2019/2020
Purpose The Geo-Adventure Club is a place for students to explore places of natural and cultural interest and to be active in improving the environment.
Advisor Dan Scollon
Phone (530) 242-2314
Email dscollon@shastacollege.edu

GSA (Gay Straight Alliance)

Status ​Active 2019/2020
Purpose To create a safe, welcoming, and accepting school environment for all students regardless of sexual orientation or gender identity.
​Advisors Valerie Ambrose / Andrew Jolliff
Phone (530) 242-2231 / (530) 242-7760
Email vambrose@shastacollege.edu / ajolliff@shastacollege.edu

Hispanic Latino/a/x Initiative Club

Status Active 2019/2020
Purpose An increased focus on Hispanic Latino/a/x students in order to increase retention, persistence and success.
Advisors Idalia Huckman-Crye / Sharon Brisolara
Phone (530) 529-8976 / (530) 242-7625
Email ​ihuckman@shastacollege.edu / sbrisolara@shastacollege.edu

Horticulture Club

Status Active 2019/2020
Purpose To promote horticulture knowledge and job opportunities for students at Shasta College.
​Advisor Leimone Waite
Phone ​(530) 242-2210
Email ​lwaite@shastacollege.edu

Intervarsity Christian Fellowship

Status Active 2020/2021
Purpose ​To see students fully come alive in the love, purpose and joy of Jesus Christ, engaging deeply with the Bible, prayer, and community.
Advisor Rachelle Sugimoto
Phone (530) 242-2331
Email ​rsugimoto@shastacollege.edu
Learn More You can learn more and connect with the club on Instagram at @shasta.iv

Knight's Student Athletes

Status Active 2019/2020
Purpose To help support the mission of providing a high quality experience for our student athletes while participating in intercollegiate athletics at Shasta College.
Advisors Jerry Brown
​Phone ​(530) 242-2275
​Email ​jbrown@shastacollege.edu ​

Lance

​Status Active 2019/2020
Purpose A student-ran print/online news magazine whose main goal is to inform those on campus and to promote the different departments of Shasta College.
Advisors Peter Griggs / Chris Rodriguez
​Phone (530) 242-7514 / (530) 242-7730
Email jlivingston@shastacollege.edu

Logging Sports Club

Status ​Active 2019/2020
​Purpose ​To promote a positive image of the logging industry, strengthen professional contacts amongst industry partners, and demonstrate safe, fun and educational experiences with kids and the general public, through the use of logging sports competitions.
Advisor John Livingston
Phone (530) 242-2203
​Email jlivingston@shastacollege.edu

Natural Resources Club

Status Active 2019/2020
Purpose A group of Shasta College students dedicated to working with the community to better understand the effects that humans have on our enviornment. Our main goal is to educate the public about natural resource issues and to set a good example for the community to follow.
Advisor Melissa Markee
Phone ​(530) 242-2298
Email mmarkee@shastacollege.edu

Pep Band

Status Active 2019/2020
Purpose To add an extra layer of student involvement and support to regular home football and basketball games.
Advisors Brandon Mendez / David Cooper
Phone ​(530) 242-7730 / (530) 242 - 2229
Email bmendez@shastacollege.edu / dcooper@shastacollege.edu

Phi Theta Kappa - Beta Mu Mu Chapter (PTK) | Student Honor Society Organization

Site ptk.org
​Status ​Active 2020/2021
Purpose To promote Scholarship, Fellowship, Leadership and Service among two-year college students. Must have completed 12 units at Shasta College and have and maintain a cumulative GPA of 3.5 or higher to join. Cost is $90.00. Membership is by application ONLY. Please visit the websites below or visit the Office of the Dean of Students for a paper application.
Advisor Denise Axtell
Phone ​(530) 242-7771
​Email daxtell@shastacollege.edu

Recording and Performing Arts Club

Status Active 2019/2020
Purpose To provide a forum where members can create and participate in performance, composition, electronic music/media, recording arts, live sound and broadcasting activities. To provide oppurtunities for members to socialize, collaborate, and network through common interests in the recording and performing arts. To foster interest in the recoring and performance arts and it's subcategories among its members and the community.
Advisor Dr. Jeff Specht
Phone (​763) 607-4294
Email jspecht@shastacollege.edu

Rotaract

Status Active 2019/2020
​Purpose To provide opportunities for personal and group activities to serve the community and promote international understanding and goodwill toward all people. To develop professional and leadership skills.
Advisor ​Kelly Nickel
Phone ​(530) 941-5207
Email knickel@shastacollege.edu

Shasta College Dental Hygiene Class of 2021

Status Active 2019/2020
Purpose ​A group of Hygiene college students and faculty dedicated to working with the community to understand the professional role of our industry in society.
Advisors ​Yvette Warren / Kristi Hughes
Phone (530) 949-7524 / ​(530) 227-4452
​Email ywarren@shastacollege.edu​ / ​khughes@shastacollege.edu

Science Club

Status Active 2019/2020
Purpose To not only facilitate a deeper passion and yearning for scientific understanding, but to also offer the opportunity for students to conduct facilitated experimentation and research.
Advisor Jim Bigelow / Dr. Matthew Evans / Tim Shelton
Phone (530) 242-2261 / ​(530) 242-2316 / (530) 242-2321
Email ​jbigelow@shastacollege.edu​ / mevans@shastacollege.edu / tshelton@shastacollege.edu

Shasta College Club S.O.A.R.

Status Active 2019/2020
Purpose To encourage and build confidence in those students who have experienced life-altering hardships and economic difficulties due to the industrial prison complex.
Advisors Noehly Padilla
Phone (530) 242-7539
Email npadilla@shastacollege.edu

Shasta College Student For Life

Status Active 2019/2020
Purpose ​To organize and activate pro-life students on the Shasta College campus. Members of the Shasta College Students For Life club work to protect life from conception to natual death, particularly those lived threatened by abortion, infanticide, embryonic stem cell research and euthanasia. In furtherance of these goals, members seek to promote respect for life at Shasta College and on a local, state, and national level, to educate on life issues, to help those in need so that life is a promising choice, and to work with others who share common goals.
Advisor Wade Stewart / Diane Welch
Phone (530) 242-2296 / (530) 638-5717
​Email wstewart@shastacollege.edu / diw00608@gmail.com​

Social Work and Human Services

Status Active 2019/2020
Purpose To partner with local organizations to help benefit individuals and families in the Shasta College and Redding community at large. The members of this club will use social work and networking skills to accomplish this goal.
Advisor Dr. Wade Stewart
Phone (530) 242-2296
Email ​wstewart@shastacollege.edu​

Student Senate | Student Government Organization

Status Active 2020/2021
​Purpose To represent students of Shasta College; to provide a vehicle for shared governance, student input, and participation in the affairs and activities of Shasta College as provided by the Education Code of the State of California. The Student Senate functions for the good of the students to promote concerns and policies pertaining to the students of Shasta College and encourage student development and leadership.
Advisor Tabitha Peterson
Phone (530) 242-7614
Email tpeterson@shastacollege.edu

Tennis Club

Status Active 2019/2020
Purpose Build a community of people who are interested in tennis.
Advisor Heidi Lee
Phone ​(530) 949-3830
​Email hlee@shastacollege.edu

Welding & Manufacturing Club

​Status Active 2019/2020
Purpose Help students further their knowledge of the different processes in welding and manufacturing and to help them network in the industry.
Advisors Rick Osbrink / Ron Hardin
Phone (530) 242-2268 / (530) 242-2214
Email rosbrink@shastacollege.edu / rhardin@shastacollege.edu

Women's Beach Volleyball Club (formerly Sand Volleyball)

​Status Active 2019/2020
Purpose To provide female Shasta College students with the opportunity to participate in beach volleyball play and practive. To potentially provide these athletes with the opportunity for both intramural and intercollegiate scrimmage competition.
Advisors Kelly Brazil / Jason Kelly
​Phone (530) 242-2274 / (530) 242-7737
Email kbrazil@shastacollege.edu / jkelly@shastacollege.edu

Some of the most recent dormant clubs

If you are interested in starting this club again please contact the Office of Student Life (530) 242-7626:

  • Association of General Contractors Club
  • Business Leadership Club
  • Disabilities Awareness Club
  • Food and Film Club
  • Latinas Unidas Networking Alliance Club
  • League of Legends Club
  • Model United Nations Club
  • N.A.T.I.V.E. Club
  • Nerd Club
  • Project Dance
  • Puente Club
  • Rodeo Club
  • Technology Club T.O.R.C.H. "Teaching Others Responsibility, Compassion and Hope"
  • Theatre for Action Club (Formerly: Drama Club)
  • Veterans Club
  • Vocational Nursing Club
  • Writing Club

 

Last updated July 2020.

Ryan Loughrey

Staff Contact Info
Position Student Services Coordinator (Global Education Center)
Location 2308